It’s a new day for Lousiana alcohol laws! After Gov. John Bel Edwards signed a pair of bills allowing deliveries around the state, restaurants, and stores across Louisiana are expected to start home deliveries of alcoholic beverages in the next two months.
House Bill 508, by Rep. Chris Leopold, R-Belle Chasse, sets up the rules and standards for Class B liquor retailers to bring factory-sealed beverages to residences during their authorized store hours.
The first bill passed was House Bill 349, by Rep. Thomas Carmody Jr., R-Shreveport. The bill authorizes Louisiana Alcohol and Tobacco Control to issue permits for the delivery of low-alcohol-content beverages by restaurants, grocery stores, package houses, and some third parties. Permits will only cost $250 for restaurants & grocery stores and $500 for third parties delivery services.
Deliver to schools and universities is forbidden, and drivers will carry scanners to make sure the customer who placed the order are older than 21. Those involved in the delivery of alcohol are not be allowed to deliver out of parish lines.
The state says the goal is to create a system that offers alcohol delivery to their homes while ensuring public safety.
Photo: Tchoup Yard